Ulta Birthday Haul 2016

Hello, everyone! I am actually super late with this haul, my birthday was actually last Saturday, but I haven’t been able to get daylight photos so I finally just gave in and used the flash. Oh, well, it’s just a haul post.

ulta bday haul cropped

I’m gonna start off with the birthday gift for the January-March period, which is a sample of the Benefit Roller Lash mascara. I’m super excited about this because I’ve been wanting to try this since it came out but I don’t believe in splurging on something I’ve never tried, especially if it’s something finicky like mascara.

birthday roller lash

Not gonna lie, I love Benefit’s packaging. That silver sparkle has me all heart eye emoji’d up. I can’t wait to review this on my blog, but it’s going to have to wait until I finish up my current mascara, a sample of the Smashbox Full Exposure mascara.

Next up is the NYX Liquid Suede lipstick in the shade Soft-Spoken. I have been hunting down this shade, but it’s always out of stock at my local Ulta’s. I honestly had given up on this since NYX just came out with ACTUAL liquid lipsticks, the Lip Lingerie line, but those aren’t in stores yet so I bought this to tide myself over until I eventually come across the new line.

nyx soft spoken

I also purchased one of the new Rimmel lipsticks that I haven’t really seen anyone talk about yet. Not sure if it’s just me their new line has kind of an awkward name, it’s called The Only 1. I really just picked this up on a whim, I picked the shade Naughty Nude because I really only have about two nude lipsticks and that’s all I ever wear for work so I figured I should add in a little variety.

rimmel the one

Once I took them home they looked a little similar so I swatched them but as you can see, the Rimmel lipstick is super sheer and much more pink so phew! I hate when I accidentally pick up dupes.

swatches

Top: NYX Liquid Suede in Soft-Spoken       Bottom: Rimmel The Only 1 in Naughty Nude

Real Techniques was Buy One Get One Free so I finally picked up the Miracle Complexion Sponge and and got the Lash/Brow Groomer for free. I broke my last one as it was an old little cheapie plastic one, it served me well the past few years but it was time for a new one. I didn’t take photos of these items as they’re not particularly exciting and everyone and their mother has seen the RT sponge.

I’ve been dragging my feet about buying a new concealer but I finally bought the Maybelline Superstay Better Skin concealer and…it was the complete wrong color. I opened it, swatched it and thought it might be the right color until I tried it on my face. So I have to go exchange that sometime soon. If you’re curious, I got the shade Light/Medium and it’s much too light for me.

The last thing in my haul I actually didn’t buy, my lovely boyfriend gave it to me as a birthday present! I love Too Faced’s packaging! Something about their aesthetic really speaks to me. Anyway, this is the Too Faced Love Flush blush in the shade Baby Love, and I just about died when I opened it since that was the shade I really wanted. Bless his cute little heart.

too faced love flush

I didn’t swatch it yet because I want to revel in its beauty a bit more before I start touching it and the embossing wears away.

too faced baby love

Isn’t that lovely? I hope it wears well, I don’t expect it to last as long as it claims (I mean, I don’t even wear makeup for 16 hours), but I do hope it can last through my work day. I don’t have any soft natural blush shades like this either.

That’s it for now, folks! Stick around for my upcoming reviews on some of these products, as I’ve never tried any of these before.

Have you tried any of these products? Do you spy any of your tried & true’s? Let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Ulta Birthday Haul 2016

Leave a Reply

