January Birchbox Unboxing + First Impressions

Let me be real here, I am really seriously considering canceling my Birchbox subscription. I’m sick and tired of all these lifestyle products, I am drowning in all sorts of hair sprays and I’m over it. I’ve been subscribed for almost three years now and yes, I have bought some nice things at a discount with their reward points, but lately in the past 6 months I haven’t feel like trying hardly anything they’ve sent me. I’m feeling very disillusioned with this subscription box. Now let’s shove all those feelings aside and open up this box!

IMG_20160117_223956697

It comes with little stickers that you can put on the lid of the box to describe your 2016.

IMG_20160117_224110502

IMG_20160117_224300444

strength, creativity, ambition

I’ve only tried products from one of the brands in my box this month. A few months ago I received the skinny version of this fat liquid eyeliner from Eyeko, I really liked the skinny one but I’m a bit weary of this chunky one. I don’t wear thick liquid liner like I used to high school, I find it really overwhelms my hooded eyes.

IMG_20160117_225112016

Left to Right: Foreo Day Cleanser, Eyeko Fat Liquid Eyeliner in Black, R + Co Death Valley Dry Shampoo, TONYMOLY Delight Tony Tint in Red, Parlor by Jeff Chastain Detangling Leave-In Conditoner

I swatched the Eyeko Fat Liquid Eyeliner to see if you could actually make a thin line with it.

IMG_20160117_225318672

Left is 1 swipe using just the tip. Β  || Β  Β Right is 1 swipe using the side.

I didn’t test the liner swatches for longevity, but they did come off very easily with just a wet paper towel. However, the swatches I did of the TONYMOLY Delight Tony Tint stained my arm for like two days.

IMG_20160117_230137298

Left to Right: 1 swipe, 2 swipes, 3 swipes

It takes a couple minutes to kind of dry down; in total I’d say the very first swatch was only on for a maximum of 15 minutes. It smells very sweet, kind of like cherry candy. I normally don’t like cherry but I love the smell of this. It’s a sort of strawberry red, you know it has that hint of pink to it. I used the same method of removal and this is what it looked like after a couple rubs and swipes:

IMG_20160117_230400488

I’m interested to try this out on the lips, especially to see if the cherry smell lingers all day or if it’s not as noticeable on the lips.

Obviously I can’t swatch the face wash, dry shampoo, or detangler BUT I did give them all a sniff test and the dry shampoo straight up smells like perfume. I’ll give a full review on everything closer to the end of the month.

Item Links:

Foreo Day Cleanser

Eyeko Fat Liquid Eyeliner

R + Co Death Valley Dry Shampoo

TONYMOLY Delight Tony Tint in Red or ChaCha

Parlor by Jeff Chastain Detangling Leave-In Conditioner

What items did you receive in your January 2016 Birchbox? What items are you excited to try out this month? Let me know in the comments below!

Here’s my referral code if you’re interested in acquiring a Birchbox subscription for yourself: x. Sometimes they do $5 off your first box, I’m not sure if they are right now.

 

Leave a Reply

