Maybelline Super Stay Better Skin Powder Review

Disclosure: I received this product complimentary from Influenster for review purposes. All opinions are my own, as my other blog posts always are. 

Hey, guys! Today I want to talk about the new Maybelline Super Stay Better Skin Powder. I feel like I don’t have much to say about it, but I always think that and always end up with lengthy blog posts anyway sooo…let’s get into it!

cleaned up final

L to R: MAC Prep + Prime, Maybelline Better Skin Powder, Sonia Kashuk KO Beauty brush

I have very mixed thoughts about this powder. Overall, I do like it but it doesn’t stay matte for long and it’s kind of expensive. The compact holds 0.32 oz of product, and costs $10.99. Rimmel Stay Matte is 0.49 oz and costs less than $4. I mean, I’m just saying. Yes, the Better Skin comes in a much nicer compact with a mirror and applicator, but I still wouldn’t pay more than $10 for it. I feel like drugstore brands are just getting ballsier and ballsier with their increasing prices. Maybe I’m just a cheapskate, though.

IMG_0615 edited

Claims: “all day oil control and lasting coverage”, “achieve better looking skin in 3 weeks”*

Other: matte finish, unscented, plastic packaging, 8 shades

Pros: extremely pigmented, sturdy packaging, smooth texture, very natural matte finish, lasts through light sweating

Cons: doesn’t stay matte, small amount of product, useless applicator

Overall: I like the texture and finish of this, even though it eventually becomes a satin finish. I love how natural and skin-like it looks, it doesn’t look powdery and dry. Unfortunately, I picked the wrong color so I haven’t used it beyond about a week for review purposes. I wish it lasted more than a couple hours. I bring this with me to use the mirror for other touch ups (it’s a really nice compact), but I don’t touch up this powder. I don’t care for the sponge applicator, it applies the powder unevenly. I don’t like carrying around a huge powder brush so I can’t reapply this powder on the go. Ultimately, if I can buy this on sale or with a coupon, I will totally snatch it up. I just think $11 is pushing it a bit, especially for the small amount of product. I could save up a dollars more and buy a nice mid-end powder. This isn’t me knocking it, it’s a good powder, but the lack of longevity stops it from pushing it into the great category and making it worth those couple extra bucks.

IMG_0245 cropped

Wearing the shade Rich Tan.

* I didn’t touch on this in my review because…c’mon, Maybelline, who ya trying to fool?

Have you tried the new Maybelline Super Stay Better Skin Powder? Do you think it’s worth the money? Let me know in the comments below!  🙂

 

 

Instagram | Have you read my last blog post?

Leave a Reply

